New normal

Yesterday I was diagnosed with gastroparesis basically my stomach is partially paralyzed and can’t process food normally so now I am on a very restrictive diet of liquids, purees and soft foods when tolerable. No fruits, veggies, meat, chicken, anything with fiber. Unless it’s puréed into a pasta like ravioli and or baby-food and even then only when my tummy can handle it. There is no cure so this is the rest of my life where sometimes I can handle a light small meal of pasta and other times where I’m surviving on liquids like the ones above. By the way it will take me hours to drink that nutrition shake because if I drink too much at one time I’ll vomit. Currently my emotions are all over the place. From sad and angry to I got this it will be fine. It’s a big adjustment and eventually I’ll get the hang of it and it will be my new normal. In the meantime I have to grieve my ore diagnosis life and my social life that while limited (I keep my circle small) is going to change drastically. If I had known the other night that my steak was the last steak I would ever eat for the rest of my life I would have savored it more. Hangry is about to take on a whole new definition at my house at least for me and I’m sure I’ll be unbearable while I adjust my sails to this new normal, but calm seas never made for a skillful sailor. My therapist thinks blogging about my new journey will help me and hopefully help others who suffer from this rare disease so I’ll give it a shot maybe it will make acceptance a little easier to swallow (yes that’s a pun/joke)

✌🏼🖤 💡

SirenBelle 🧜🏼‍♀️

Leave a comment